Hey Everybody,

Sorry for my recent absence.  Things have been hectic in my life and as a result my posts on Fitlish have tapered off.  But I see you guys are continuing to visit the site which is greatly appreciated.  I will be returning to school in the Spring to learn more about web development and push things to the next level so stay tuned!

As you all well know I've spent the past several months evaluating the Paleo Diet Plan.  I was a bit skeptical of what the results might be, even after performing the diet for 3 months and religiously avoiding grains.  It wasn't until this last week that I tried them again.  Wheat was difficult to avoid as I was at the traditional seasonal Christmas parties we're all accustomed to.

Upon trying some pastries among several wheat based dishes (friend wanted to share their cooking with me) I got fairly sick.  These pastries were Wheat based of course.  When I tried them they just didn't seem to have the flavor I'm accustomed to with my Paleo friendly foods.  Instead they tasted flavorless and made my stomach turn knots.  The next day I felt a sick and drained.

I had a similar experience eating Peanuts which are actually not nuts at all they are Legumes one of the most anti-nutrient dense foods on the planet!  They made me quite sick.  I immediately broke out with nasty allergies, got light headed, and had no energy.  To say the least I felt like crap.  Keep in mind prior to the diet I had a hard time noticing the adverse effects of these foods.  It was because I had nothing to compare them to as they had always been a part of my regular diet.  It wasn't until I tried omitting anti-nutrient dense foods that I realized the adverse effects they have on all of us including myself!

Interestingly though, not all grains are culprit!  Rice seemed to be OK in my diet and corn (corn nuts to be specific) seemed to have little effect on how I felt.  Now they aren't the best nutrients but in my experience I found eating them in moderation had no adverse effect on how I feel.  Mark's Daily Apple has an interesting post about Rice as pertains to Paleo in general which you can view here, Is Rice Unhealthy?:

It's a great article, here's a snippet, I recommend checking out the whole thing 🙂

The cereal grain family prides itself on its powerful, expansive arsenal of lectins, phytates, gluten, and other antinutrients. A single seed of its patriarch, wheat, can punch holes in gut linings with ease, and cousin oat has managed to obtain official recognition as being good for the heart even as it doses you with gluten. As healthy whole grains, they hide their armaments in plain sight; they cloak their puny bodies in the very poisons for which they are lauded and applauded. We Primals have got a heated feud going with the family as a whole, but should we paint all its members with the same brush?

Additionally, if you're interested in learning about my Paleo Diet Results checkout this link here, http://www.fitlish.com/mediterraneandietplan